Navigation aid

Deutsche EuroShop - Annual Report 2006

History:

Macroeconomic Environment

The pace of Germany’s economic recovery accelerated in 2006. Gross domestic product (GDP) rose by 2.7% in Germany (previous year: 0.9%). After adjustment for the negative calendar effect - the year under review had two fewer working days than the preceding year - the rise in GDP was 2.9% for 2006 (2005: 1.1% after adjustment for the calendar effect), the fastest growth rate since 2000.

Economy driven by exports

The positive development of the German economy over the past two years has primarily been driven by continuing high export surpluses. In spite of the euro’s sharp appreciation against the US dollar, demand from abroad continued unabated and caused double-digit growth in exports (+12.4% in real terms). According to information from the Federal Statistical Office, the share of net exports in GDP growth in the financial year under review amounted to 0.7 percentage points. In 2004 this figure was 0.4 percentage points.

Domestic demand gathers momentum

Unlike in previous years, the domestic economy also gathered momentum in 2006. Investments in construction and capital goods expanded fairly rapidly. Not only capital expenditure, but also consumer spending rose in Germany, driven by modest wage increases (+1.8%) and a small decline in the savings rate (from 10.6% to 10.5%): Private consumption, which accounts for 59% of nominal GDP and is therefore its most significant component, increased by 2.1% after two virtually flat years.

Gross domestic product

Seasonally and working-day adjusted

Gross domestic product (Seasonally and working-day adjusted)

Inflation at 1.7%

The consumer price index declined in 2006. Averaging 1.7%, annual inflation was below that of the previous year (2.0%). The development in inflation in 2006 was mainly driven by energy prices. Domestic energy and fuel prices rose by 8.5% and drove prices upwards for almost the entire year. Excluding the effect of energy prices, the average inflation rate would only have been 0.9%.

Situation on the labour market brightens

On an annual average, the unemployment rate fell to 10.8% (previous year: 11.7%); 4.49 million people (previous year: 4.86 million) were out of work. This significant decline in unemployment primarily reflects a cyclical increase in employment liable to social security contributions.

EMU economy expands

The European Monetary Union (EMU) experienced a strong economic upturn in 2006. According to the Statistical Office of the European Communities (Eurostat), GDP grew by 2.6% in 2006 (previous year: +1.4%). After adjustments for calendar effects, it is estimated that growth would have been just over 0.1 percentage points higher. However, there were major differences between the various member states: while Ireland and Luxembourg reached growth rates of more than 5%,Germany (2.7%) again ranked among the poorer performers as regards economic development, ahead of France (+2.2%), Italy (+1.7%) and Portugal (+1.2%). The euro zone inflation rate in 2006 was 2.2%, similar to the previous year, and unemployment fell sharply to 7.8% (2005: 8.6%). Private consumption increased considerably. While Germany enjoyed its first upturn in years, growth in France, Spain and Italy was positively buoyant.




Continue reading: Retail Sector

Back to: General conditions

Navigationshilfe

Deutsche EuroShop - Geschäftsbericht 2006

Verlauf:

Gesamtwirtschaftliches Umfeld

Der konjunkturelle Aufschwung in Deutschland hat sich 2006 beschleunigt fortgesetzt. Das Bruttoinlandsprodukt (BIP) ist in Deutschland um 2,7 % gestiegen (nach 0,9 % im Vorjahr). Nach Bereinigung des negativen Kalendereffekts – das Berichtsjahr hatte zwei Arbeitstage weniger als das Vorjahr – ergibt sich ein Anstieg des BIP von 2,9 % für das Jahr 2006 (2005 kalenderbereinigt: +1,1 %). Das war die stärkste wirtschaftliche Belebung seit 2000.

Außenhandel treibt Konjunkturmotor an

Die positive Entwicklung der deutschen Wirtschaft in den vergangenen zwei Jahren ist vor allem auf anhaltend hohe Exportüberschüsse zurückzuführen. Die trotz einer kräftigen Aufwertung des Euro gegenüber dem US-Dollar ungebrochene Nachfrage aus dem Ausland sorgte für zweistellige Zuwachsraten (real +12,4 %) der Exporte. Nach Angaben des Statistischen Bundesamtes belief sich der Anteil des Außenbeitrags am Wachstum des BIP im abgeschlossenen Geschäftsjahr auf 0,7 Prozentpunkte. 2004 lag dieser Wert bei 0,4 Prozentpunkten.

Binnennachfrage kommt in Schwung

Anders als in den Vorjahren ist 2006 auch die Binnenkonjunktur in Schwung gekommen. Die Investitionen in Bauten und Ausrüstungen wurden recht zügig ausgeweitet. Im Inland wurde nicht nur mehr investiert, sondern – bei schwach steigenden Lohneinkommen (+1,8 %) und leicht nachgebender Sparquote (von 10,6 % auf 10,5 %) – auch stärker konsumiert: Der private Konsum, mit einem Anteil von 59 % am nominalen BIP die gewichtigste Verwendungskomponente, legte nach zwei nahezu stagnierenden Jahren um 2,1 % zu.

Bruttoinlandsprodukt

Saison- und arbeitstäglich bereinigter Verlauf

Bruttoinlandsprodukt (Saison- und arbeitstäglich bereinigter Verlauf)

Inflationsrate bei 1,7 %

Der Verbraucherpreisindex war im vergangenen Jahr rückläufig. Die Inflationsrate lag im Jahresdurchschnitt mit 1,7 % unter der des Vorjahres (2,0 %). Vor allem die Energiepreise waren für die Inflationsentwicklung 2006 verantwortlich. Haushaltsenergie und Kraftstoffe verteuerten sich um 8,5 % und wirkten fast im gesamten Jahr preistreibend. Ohne Einrechnung von Energie hätte die jahresdurchschnittliche Teuerung nur 0,9 % betragen.

Arbeitsmarktsituation hellt auf

Die Arbeitslosenquote ging im Jahresdurchschnitt auf 10,8 % (im Vorjahr: 11,7 %) zurück; 4,49 Mio. (4,86 Mio.) Menschen waren erwerbslos. In diesem deutlichen Rückgang der Arbeitslosigkeit spiegelt sich vor allem der konjunkturell bedingte Aufbau sozialversicherungspflichtiger Beschäftigung wider.

EWU im Aufschwung

Die Europäische Währungsunion (EWU) befand sich 2006 in einem kräftigen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Nach Angaben des Statistischen Amtes der Europäischen Gemeinschaften (Eurostat) ergab sich für 2006 ein BIP-Wachstum von 2,6 % (nach +1,4 % im Vorjahr). Kalenderbereinigt wäre das Wachstum schätzungsweise um etwas mehr als 0,1 Prozentpunkte höher ausgefallen. Allerdings gab es große Unterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten: Während Irland und Luxemburg Wachstumsraten von über 5 % erreichten, belegte Deutschland (+2,7 %) in der Eurozone vor Frankreich (+2,2 %), Italien (+1,7 %) und Portugal (+1,2 %) erneut einen der hinteren Plätze in puncto wirtschaftliche Entwicklung. Die Inflationsrate in der Eurozone bewegte sich 2006 auf Vorjahresniveau bei 2,2 %, die Arbeitslosenquote sank deutlich auf 7,8 % (2005: 8,6 %). Der private Konsum nahm spürbar zu. Während man sich in Deutschland über eine erste Belebung seit Jahren freute, zeigte sich in Frankreich, Spanien und Italien ein geradezu lebhafter Anstieg.




Lesen Sie weiter: Einzelhandel

Zurück zu: Rahmenbedingungen